New & Reissue Reggae Music, Revives, Ska, Dancehall, Roots, Dub on Vinyl & CD.

Spend £50 or more and get FREE postage on your order. (England and U.K. ONLY)
Home > CD

Rise Up ! The Riz Records Story CD Reggae Archive Records

Sorry, this item is out of stock
Rise Up ! The Riz Records Story

Riz Records was a major force in keeping UK reggae alive and kicking back in the day, and is still as popular (if not more so) today.
Sister company to Sugar Shack and Bristol Archive, Reggae Archive have lovingly compiled a collection of fifteen of Riz’s finest tunes featuring some exclusive mixes and unreleased tracks.
Member of the Rootikal crew, David Hill, superbly re-works six tracks into ‘discomixes’ which are bizarrely as close to disco as One Direction are to grunge metal but, do add loads of dubbed out synth effects to make them nothing short of enthralling.
Opener, Rise Up by Johnny Osbourne is one such example where its eight minutes pass by seemingly very quickly. Previously unreleased tracks by the one and only Armagideon Man, Willie Williams, and Dreadzone vocalist Earl Sixteen compliment inclusions from Orville Smith and Admiral Tibet whose Permission is one of the album highlights The sound quality is superb, with the tracks being lifted directly from the original masters, and the track listing reads like a selection made in reggae heaven.
Fight Fight by Orville Smith has a superb closing dub which sounds amazing in headphones. Deep deep bass and clear polished brass section. Smiths version of Builders Temple is sheer class. Bob Skeng’s Education is brilliant in its simplicity, and Absentee Dub by Manasseh Meets The Equalizer is completely dreamy. The later appear again on the final track to the album with Souljah and, is more gliding soul than reggae making its inclusion slightly odd. That said, it’s a killer track in its own right and this reason enough to add it to a fine fine collection. With some very detailed sleeve notes containing great photos, this is a collection well worth giving a listen to.
Fantastic booklet with sleeve notes compiled by Dub Mart (Martin Langford) from an interview conducted by David Hill.
All words by Paul Scott-Bates (Louder Than War)

1 Johnny Osbourne ‘Rise Up’ discomix 08:00
2 Admirel Tibet ‘Permission’ 06:01
3 RAS ‘The Garden’ 03:59
4 Orville Smith ‘Fight Fight’ discomix 06:25
5 Indica All Stars ‘Open Our Eyes’ (Phoebes Cut) 03:49
6 Danny Red ‘Dance Get Overload’ discomix 04:42
7 Bob Skeng ‘Education’ discomix 05:03
8 RAS feat. Earl Sixteen ‘Natural Roots’ 03:43
9 Orville Smith ‘Financial Circumstance’ discomix 06:04
10 Willie Williams ‘Saints’ discomix 07:30
11 Orville Smith ‘Builder’s Temple’ 04:01
12 Manasseh meets The Equalizer ‘Absentee Dub’ 03:57
13 Earl 16 ‘Always on the Run’ 03:59
14 Mikey Mystic ‘South Africa’ 04:21
15 Manasseh meets The Equalizer ‘Souljah’ 05:33

Label: Reggae Archive Records
Year: 1990's
Format: CD


Customer Reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product