New & Reissue Reggae Music, Revives, Ska, Dancehall, Roots, Dub on Vinyl & CD.

Spend £50 or more and get FREE postage on your order. (England and U.K. ONLY)
Home > CD

Barbara Naps - Empress Lioness CD Singular Sounds

Barbara Naps - Empress Lioness

1. Children Of The Most High 
2. Runaway Slaves 
3. Mr Big Banker 
4. Natural High 
5. Revelation 
6. Roots 
7. Youths 
8. What About The Youths ?
9. Empress Lioness 
10. Sweet ghetto Brotha 
11. Angels 
12. One Heart 
13. Africa Callin'

Label: Singular Sounds
Format: CD
Year: 2013

Barbara’s musical career started at the tender age of 17 when she appeared on stage singing backing vocals with the popular UK singer Vivian Jones.

Her first track, released under the pseudonym NyaNatty, was entitled ‘One Love Style’. She wrote the song while travelling on the train to a recording session for the group Black Slate which they recorded and released on the S&G Records label.

Barbara went on to work with UB40, recording several tracks for their DEP International record label. ‘Suffering’  featured on the B-side of the band’s UK top 10 hit ‘Please Don’t Make Me Cry’. She was offered a 5-year recording contract with DEP International but declined after being invited to join the all-female band Akabu, first as a drummer, then as guitarist/backing vocalist. As an integral part of Akabu, she toured continuously all over the world, performing at the world famous Reggae Sunsplash festival, and at prestigious venues such as Madison Square Gardens and the Apollo Theatre in Harlem, New York.

After several years as a member of Akabu, Barbara decided it was time to pursue a solo career and she released several singles, as well as her debut album ‘No Apologies’ on the Ruff Cutt label. She became a regular feature of the critically acclaimed Ruff Cutt Band, becoming one of the most highly rated backing vocalists in the reggae business. Barbara has regularly worked with a long list of the most prestigious reggae acts both live and in the studio, including artists such as Marcia Griffiths, Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Beres Hammond, Alton Ellis, John Holt, Luciano, Sanchez, Ken Boothe, Delroy Wilson, Cornell Campbell, Al Campbell and Michael Rose, to name just a few.

As well as being a talented vocalist, Barbara is also an accomplished musician, composer, producer and music programmer. She produced and programmed a number of the rhythm tracks for songs on her debut album and has programmed and produced all the rhythm tracks for her latest album, Empress Lioness, which was released on March 25th, 2013.