• War - Greatest Hits LP Rhino (Gold Vinyl)

    War - Greatest Hits LP Rhino (Gold Vinyl)

    2021 Marks 50 Years Since War Burst Onto The Scene, Representing Peace, Love, And A Good Time. They’ve Always Considered Themselves A Band That Comes From The Street And Makes Street Music – That Is Accessible, Danceable Tunes That Speak To Everyday Life. The Band Have An Amazing 17 Gold, Platinum, Or Multi-Platinum Albums. They Toured Through Europe And The US Extensively In The 70s And 80s, And Still Maintain A Robust Touring Schedule – Pandemic Providing. War's First Ever Hits Album From 1976 And Hasn't Been On Vinyl Since The ‘70s And Is Now Being Pressed On GOLD Vinyl. The Album Features Their Biggest Hits Including “Slippin’ Into Darkness,” “Why Can’t We Be Friends?” As Well As Their Iconic Hit “Low Rider.” Audio Has Been Taken From The Original Master Tapes, With Artwork Being Faithfully Replicated. Track List Side One: 1. ALL DAY MUSIC 2. SLIPPIN’ INTO DARKNESS 3. THE WORLD IS A GHETTO 4. THE CISCO KID 5. GYPSY MAN Side Two: 1. ME AND BABY BROTHER 2. SOUTHERN PART OF TEXAS 3. WHY CAN’T WE BE FRIENDS? 4. LOW RIDER 5. SUMMER
  • Winston Groovy / Laurel Aitken - Skinhead A Wreck The Town / Moon Rock 7" Aggrobeat

    Winston Groovy / Laurel Aitken - Skinhead A Wreck The Town / Moon Rock 7" Aggrobeat

    'Skinhead Wreck The Town / Moon Rock' is another highly collectable single produced by Laurel Aitken and was issued in 1969 as a blank label pre-release only. The song 'Skinhead Wreck The Town' on the A-side is often miscredited to Laurel Aitken, but in fact the vocal duties were done by none less than Winston Groovy. Later in his career Winston Groovy gained succes with songs like 'Please Don't Make Me Cry' (which was also covered by UB40) and with his adaption of The Commodores song 'Nightshift'. The song 'Moon Rock' on the flipside is a typical Laurel Aitken song like he wrote so many during those days. Although Aitken is often praised as the Godfather of Ska, his important contribution to the early days of reggae may not be overlooked either. Despite the great quality of both songs, this reissue is the first time since 1969 that both songs are available again in its original format. Exclusively for this reissue we have remastered both songs for vinyl to deliver the best possible sound quality. The single is pressed on recycled eco vinyl(!) and includes a heavy weight insert with liner notes. Format & package: 7" single Year of release: 2020 (reissued from 1969) Tracks: A Winston Groovy - Skinhead Wreck The Town B Laurel Aitken - Moon Rock