Various Artists - Original Rock Steady Classics LP Trojan

You will earn 18 loyalty points with this purchase

Product information

The immediate successor to ska, the soulful sound of rock steady first developed during the long hot summer of 1966 and reigned supreme for two glorious years before finally being superseded by reggae. During its two years as the national sound of Jamaica, many of the rhythms that were to provide the backbone for the island’s music were created. This superb collection features 12 of the most significant recordings of the rock steady era, including the UK hits, ‘007’ and ‘Train To Skaville’, as well as the original 1967 version of ‘The Tide Is High’.

Track Listing:

1. Rock Steady – Alton Ellis & The Flames

2. 007 (Shanty Town) – Desmond Dekker & The Aces

3. Ba Ba Boom – The Jamaicans

4. Stop That Train – Keith & Tex

5. My Conversation – The Uniques,

6. Train to Skaville – The Ethiopians

7. The Tide Is High – The Paragons

8. I Am The Upsetter – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry

9. The Loser – Derrick Harriott

10. Perfidia – Phyllis Dillon

11. It’s Hard to Confess – The Gaylads

12. Return of Django – The Upsetters

Label: Trojan

Year: 2016

Format: Vinyl LP

Technical specifications

Condition New
Weight 0.18kg